Pied à Terre, London

Pied à Terre is a restaurant I’ve been wishing to try since the first time I saw the photos of their food with vivid, meticulous, and exquisite presentations.

I could compare each of their plates with a piece of flamboyant abstract art.

Collage.jpg
Courtesy of http://www.pied-a-terre.co.uk/

HIMG_0857.JPGowever, due to my time limitation, I had to wait for almost 2 years to return to London and give it a try. And during that time, October, London Restaurant Festival was being held, which meant a good opportunity to try fine dining places at more purse-friendly prices. I could get a decent tasting menu at this one Michelin starred (previously two in 1996) for less than £50.

Pied à Terre is rather a small restaurant. From the outside, it could easily be overlooked. Its dim light and modern, glamorous interior decoration felt casual enough for me.


  1. Canapés
  2. Salad of Salt Baked Beetroots with Mozzarella, Smoked Duct Breast and Shallot Vinaigrette
  3. South-Coast Cod with Preserved Lemon, Samphire, Onion Squash and Parmesan Gnocchi
  4. Roasted Breast of Guinea Fowl with Fondant Potato, Purple Sprout Broccoli and Lemon Thyme Jus
  5. Pre-Dessert
  6. Baked Vanilla Cheesecake with Port Poached Pears, Quince Purée and Pear Sorbet
  7. Petit Fours

To be honest, I can’t recall all the details as it’s been more than a year since I’ve been there. But I still remember that all the courses tasted good and had brilliant combinations of flavours. I particularly like the cod, which was cooked perfectly and had smooth, silky texture and crispy edge. The accompanying parmesan gnocchi was divinely fluffy and flavourful.

img_0863
South-Coast Cod with Preserved Lemon, Samphire, Onion Squash and Parmesan Gnocchi, my favourite

However, as you may notice, the plating was not as elaborate as I expected, both in terms of colours and compositions. I think my dishes were less colourful because it was in the autumn and probably because I’m not a good photographer! Lol. Regarding compositions, I guess this was understandable because of the nature of this promotion (which was nearly half price of the normal seasonal tasting menu).

Still, the taste and the top-notch quality of ingredients did not disappoint me at all.

Leave a Reply

